Big Ten Conference Logo

Big Ten Conference Logo

Established in 1896, the Big Ten Conference is known as the country’s oldest Division I collegiate athletic conference. While initially there were 10 members (hence the name), the current conference consists of 14 member institutions.

Meaning and history

Big Ten Conference Logo history

While there are only three glyphs in the current Big Ten Conference logo, the last two of them carry a double meaning. On the one hand, they represent the “I” and “G” in the word “Big.” On the other hand, they are the “1” and “0” forming the second part of the name of the conference. The similarity between the “I” and “1” and between the “G” and “O” make it possible to create such a structure.

This approach was not used in the previous logo (1990-2011), though.