Western Athletic Conference Logo

Western Athletic Conference logoWestern Athletic Conference Logo PNG

The Western Athletic Conference was formed on July 27, 1962. It is an NCAA-affiliated Division I collegiate athletic conference covering not only the western United States but also Missouri, Illinois, and Texas.

Meaning and history

Western Athletic Conference Logo history

Formed in 1962, the Western Athletic Conference (WAC) emerged from the collaborative efforts of six founding universities, establishing a new era in collegiate sports. This conference, over the decades, has played a pivotal role in shaping the landscape of college athletics, especially in the United States. The WAC’s journey is marked by notable achievements, particularly in sports like football and basketball, where it has been a crucible for nurturing talent and competition.

Central to the WAC’s legacy is its pioneering spirit in expanding its geographic reach, which, at one point, earned it the title of the largest Division I conference in the nation. The 1990s and early 2000s were especially significant, witnessing the conference propel numerous teams to national recognition. However, the ever-evolving nature of collegiate sports led to several realignments within the conference, influencing both its membership and competitive stature.

Today, the Western Athletic Conference stands as a testament to adaptability and resilience in the face of changing dynamics in college sports. It continues to participate actively in NCAA Division I, with its member institutions competing across a broad spectrum of sports. The WAC’s commitment to balancing athletic prowess with academic achievement mirrors its rich history while adapting to the contemporary challenges and opportunities in collegiate athletics.

What is Western Athletic Conference?
The Western Athletic Conference represents a coalition of educational institutions engaged in NCAA Division I athletics. It encompasses a diverse group of universities across the United States, championing a wide array of sports. The WAC is distinguished by its commitment to fostering a balance between athletic competition and academic integrity. As a dynamic and evolving entity in the collegiate sports arena, the conference continues to navigate changes, upholding its significant role in the narrative of college athletics.

1993 – 2004

Western Athletic Conference Logo-1993
The logo of the Western Athletic Conference, created in 1993, featured a turquoise, black and white badge with the stylized enlarged black “WAC” lettering in a custom bold typeface with a double white and turquoise outline. The abbreviation was underlined by a thin turquoise horizontally stretched rectangular with a white “Western Athletic Conference” lettering in the uppercase of a traditional neat sans-serif typeface.

2005 – 2013

Western Athletic Conference Logo-2005
The redesign of 2005 switched the color palette of the logo to gray and burgundy red and removed the solid underline of the badge with just a burgundy lettering on a white background. The upper part of the emblem was redrawn more progressively and sharply, with all three letters slightly slanted and glued to each other. The angles on the edges became more pointed and the outline — thicker.

2014 – Today

Western Athletic Conference Logo
The 2014 Western Athletic Conference logo showcases the abbreviation “WAC” in a creative italicized type. The “thorns” on the “W” and “A” make the type recognizable and help to create a memorable logo. You can also see the tagline “Learn Compete Inspire” below. The saturated maroon shade looks pretty attractive in combination with unpretentious gray.

What is Western Athletic Conference?
Western Athletic Conference is the name of the Association of college sports teams from the institutes and universities from the Western states of the USA. The clubs compete in various disciplines, including basketball, golf, swimming and Volleyball.

Western Athletic Conference Colors

HEX COLOR: #98002E;
RGB: (134,38,51)
CMYK: (0,100,61,43)

RGB: ( 238, 178, 17)
CMYK: ( 14,13,17,0)